Lynch’s “Dune” is well-known to be one of the worst flops in Hollywood history and one of the worst studio movies ever made. It’s almost unwatchable. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to go through its 137 minutes. I’ve tried, because I’m a Lynch completest, but good God is it bad. Even David Lynch seems to agree. Lynch uploaded a brand new 40-minute Q&A video to YouTube in which he answered a bunch of fan questions submitted via social media. One of the questions had Lynch being asked to name the film he is most proud of at this point in his career. “I’m proud of everything except ‘Dune,’” Lynch answered. “I’ve liked so much working on different movies. It’s not so much about pride but the enjoyment of doing, the enjoyment of the work. I’ve enjoyed working in all these different mediums. I feel really lucky to have been able to enjoy those things and to be able to live.” Lynch referred to his 1984 “Dune” adaptation as a “gigantic sadness in [his] life” because of the lack of creative freedom he received from the studio during the film, including being given a tepid budget to work with. During an interview in April Lynch said he had “zero interest” in seeing Denis Villeneuve’s upcoming new “Dune” adaptation because it will bring back too many painful memories. One look at the master’s filmography and, indeed, “Dune” sticks out like a sore thumb. I’m also not too keen on “Inland Empire” and “Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me,” but those are due for rewatches on my part. The peak Lynch visions for me will forever be “Mulholland Drive,” “Blue Velvet,” “The Elephant Man,” “Eraserhead,” “Wild at Heart,” and “Twin Peaks: The Return.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy