The greatest Elton John songs, as far as I’m concerned, are “Your Song,” “Tiny Dancer,” “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road,” “Daniel,” Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word," “Crocodile Rock,” “Bennie and the Jets,““Levon” “Mona Lisa and the Mad Hatters,” and “Some Saved My Life Tonight.” With all that being said, John’s lived a chaotic life, I won’t get into everything here, but a film has been made about the singer’s life despite him still being very much alive at the still active age of 71. The trailer has just been released and it looks … fine. I don’t know. The aptly-titled “Rocket Man” stars Taron Egerton as Elton and his voice sounds more like it belongs in a boy-band than in John’s repertory.  “Rocketman” is being dubbed as a “musical fantasy,” what does that mean? I’m not sure. Maybe director Dexter Fletcher is taking a cue from Julie Taymor’s outrageous Beatles-centered “Across the Universe” for this film.  Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy