The star of the upcoming “A Quiet Place Part II” admits superhero movies are not “beneath her,” but she is no longer sure that’s a genre she wants to act in. “I love Iron Man and when I got offered Black Widow I was obsessed with Iron Man,” the actress said. “I wanted to work with Robert Downey Jr. It would’ve been amazing. But I don’t know if superhero movies are for me. They’re not up my alley. I don’t like them. I really don’t.” Speaking about the superhero genre in general terms, Blunt added, “It’s been exhausted. We are inundated—it’s not only all the movies, it’s the endless TV shows as well. It’s not to say that I’d never want to play one, it would just have to be something so cool and like a really cool character, and then I’d be interested.” She’s not wrong. In my 10.26.19 piece titled ”Martin Scorsese May Have Just Started A Cinematic Revolution,” I wrote: “The fact of the matter is this: these movies have creative handicaps in them that prevent plenty of cinephiles from fully embracing them as ”serious art”. They have to adhere to conventional rules that were laid out to them some 50-60 years ago by comic book artists whose targeted readership was 12-year-old boys.” “It doesn’t help that the predictable mise-en-scene was encompassed by an even more predictable outcome in almost every movie: the hero had to prevail, good had to win over evil … and then we were off to the next installment. Such predictability is counterintuitive to what cinema was and always will be about: the notion of the unknown and how that unknown can create a world to get sucked into with the mindset of expecting the unexpected. In the MCU there is none of that; it’s all part of a well-fabricated, consumer-friendly playbook that goes in directions you can quite clearly see coming in a narrative point-of-view.” “The dangers of Marvel movies is just how seriously they are being greeted by not only mass audiences, but many reputable critics as well. So yeah, maybe it’s time to call these movies out, maybe it’s time to stop pretending this is actually art.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy