My first reaction: Are you kidding me? It’s been a very strong year for female performances. Some of the actresses that deserved the Best Actress award instead included Olivia Colman, Alana Haim, Penelope Cruz, Jodie Comer, Jessica Chastain, Renate Reinsve, Tessa Thompson and, even if I’m no fan of her movie, Kristen Stewart. Choosing Lady Gaga over these talented actresses is a total travesty on the part of NY critics. All I can think is that this was a subconsciously designed PR move by the group, that or an act of trolling. They definitely got their fair share of headlines on social media because of it. Then you have actual members of the group (who shall remain nameless) chatting to one another on Twitter about how their kids will be so excited to meet Gaga at next month’s ceremony. Now what we’re all wondering is whether or not AMPAS voters will take the New York bait and give Gaga her second Oscar nomination. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy