Whatever happened to him since 2006 is a mystery to us all. Both films garnered eight Oscar nominations in total, the former actor was heralded as a major new voice and then, poof, he was gone. That is until this year when he started production on “Tár,” his first film in over 16 years. Cate Blanchett stars in a drama that Field wrote and directed. Now The Playlist’s usually-reliable Gregory Elwood is saying that the buzz for the film “is reaching operatic levels.” That’s all Elwood says. I just messaged him via email to see if he can give me more details about the “buzz.” I’ll update this post if any additional details come about. I haven’t heard of any advanced test screenings for “Tar,” so its possible Elwood’s intel is coming directly from festival heads and publicists. Here’s the “Tár” plot synopsis I gathered from someone last November: Ellwood tends to be more right than wrong, but in 2013 he claimed buzz on “Saving Mr. Banks” was through the roof. Hilariously enough, Jeff Wells flew to London’s BFI to see it early because of Ellwood’s intel. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy